Kent wins fifth term as New Albany Mayor

Kent election sign


Incumbent New Albany Mayor Tim Kent has been re-nominated for a fifth term. Total results, including absentee ballots, show Kent with 592 votes (53.6%) to 514 votes (46.4%) for his Republican challenger, former school superintendent Chuck Garrett.

Kent will face Democratic nominee James Dean in the June general election, although Dean is not expected to give Kent much of a race.

The Ward One alderman position was an open race, as incumbent Amy Livingston did not seek re-election. Ashley Kidd won that Republican nomination without a run-off. He will face Independent Parks Smith in the June general election. That is expected to be a spirited contest.

In the open seat to replace Johnny Anderson as Ward Two alderman, Drew Horn easily defeated two Republican opponents to win that nomination without a run-off. Horn is expected to easily defeat the Democratic nominee.

Both Republican incumbents on the alderman board appeared to win re-nomination. Incumbent Alderman-at-Large Keith Conlee easily defeated Jeff Knox. Conlee will face Independent J. Lynn West in the general election.

Incumbent Ward Four Republican Will Tucker appeared to have won re-nomination by only a few votes, and a challenge to the count by runner up Ronnie Parker cannot be ruled out. There were no Democratic candidates in Ward Four.

Incumbent Ward Three Democratic Alderman Kevin Dale White trounced his primary challenger by nearly a two to one margin. No Republican sought the Ward Three seat on the city board.

Full election results will be posted on NEMiss.News later this evening.


0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.