New Albany Main Street Association and Local Business receives State Recognition

NEMiss.News Sappington's wins MS Main St. Business of Year 2023


New Albany Main Street Director, Billye Jean Stroud, attended the Mississippi Main Street Association’s Annual Awards Luncheon at The South Warehouse in downtown Jackson to celebrate the achievements of Mississippi Main Street communities. New Albany Main Street was awarded one of six communities out of 48 recognized into the first class of the Circle of Excellence for a Mississippi Main Street Program. Mrs. Stroud stated, “We are thrilled to be honored with a prestigious award for excellence. This recognition is a testament to the hard work, dedication, and collaborative efforts of our community members, businesses, and stakeholders. We are proud to have created a vibrant and thriving Main Street that showcases our unique heritage, fosters economic growth, and enhances the quality of life for all. This award is a validation of our commitment to preserving and revitalizing our downtown, and it motivates us to continue our journey towards even greater success. We extend our heartfelt gratitude to everyone who has contributed to the success of our Main Street Program. Together, we have created a remarkable place that embodies the spirit of community and sets an example for others to follow.”

Local downtown business owner’s of T Sappington & Co. was awarded Mississippi Main Street’s 2023 Business of the Year. Congratulations on a well deserved honor and for supporting New Albany Main Street for over 26 years.

The event recognizes the remarkable downtown revitalization projects and events from Main Street communities and also honors the Main Street directors, board members, and volunteers.

The Annual Awards Luncheon recognizes people, projects, and initiatives that drive economic development in Mississippi’s Main Street communities. Awards were presented to Designated Main Street communities throughout the state, acknowledging their downtown revitalization work. The list of 2023 award recipients includes Aberdeen, Biloxi, Booneville, Cleveland, Clinton, Columbus, Crystal Springs, Greenville, Greenwood, Hattiesburg, Holly Springs, Kosciusko, Laurel, Louisville, Meridian, New Albany, Ocean Springs, Pascagoula, Pearl, Picayune, Pontotoc County, Senatobia, Sumrall, Starkville, Tupelo, Vicksburg, Water Valley, West Point, and Woodville.

NEMiss.News Main Street Circle of Excellence

Main St. New Albany’s Circle of Excellence Medallions  Photo: NA Main St

Six Main Street programs, including New Albany Main Street, Nettleton Main Street, and Sumrall Main Street Association, Team Cleveland Main Street, Pontotoc County Main Street Chamber, Starkville Main Street Association were awarded the first ever Main Street Circle of Excellence medals and recognized for their efficient local programs and state requirements. While Nationally Accredited Main Street programs and members with 10+ years of service were also honored. The Annual Awards had various levels of sponsors this year, including Platinum Sponsor Natchez Convention Center/Downtown Natchez Alliance, Gold Sponsors Neel-Schaffer and SuperTalk Mississippi, and Bronze Sponsors Booneville Main Street and Senatobia Main Street.

NEMiss.News Billye Jean Stroud, Circle of Excellence

Billye Jean Stroud accepts NA Main Street’s Circle of Excellence Award. Photo: NA Main St.



The Mississippi Main Street Association (MMSA) received corporate sponsorship from the Mississippi Development Authority, Entergy Mississippi, Mississippi Power, and Mississippi Hills National Heritage Area for its annual awards program. In 2022, MMSA’s Designated Communities produced significant economic growth, including the creation of 495 new businesses, 56 business expansions, 841 new jobs, 183 rehabilitated buildings, and 1,817 downtown residential units. MMSA also completed 79 public improvement projects and 24 new construction projects. These efforts resulted in over $242 million invested and over 42,255 volunteer hours. MMSA has generated over $6 billion in private and public investment since its inception in 1993 and currently has 48 Designated Main Street communities, one Network community, and 27 Associate members. Additionally, every dollar invested in MMSA yielded $189 of private investment in Mississippi’s Main Street communities, the highest return on investment in the state.

Kenny Stancil

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.