Union County primary election run-off slates

Union County voters will go to the polls next week to resolve party primary election contests in which no candidate received a majority of votes.

In such instances in Mississippi primaries, the top two vote-getters settle the question in a run-off election.

The run-off will be Tuesday, August 25th.

Party nominations to be voted on again next week:

Only one county-wide office will have a run-off. Two-term Union County Superintendent of Education Ken Basil got 46.42% of the vote in the first primary, just short of an outright victory,  and will face challenger Loretta Hartfield, who received a 28.36% of the August 4th vote for that office. Roger Browning was unopposed for the Republican nomination for school superintendent, and will face the winner of the Democratic run-off election in the general election in November.

The East Post Justice Court Judgeship will pit David “Bruno” Garrison against Jimmy Dean Whitten. Garrison narrowly missed an outright primary win, drawing 47.43% of the votes. Whitten received 29.55%. The winner of that race will face Republican Thomas “Drew” Shands in the November general election.

The West Post Constable race saw Ronnie Goudy draw 45.15% of the Democratic party votes while Greg Galloway received 27.96%. Goudy or Galloway will face Republican nominee Andy Howard in November.

Union County Board of Supervisors Races:

There were numerous candidates for four of the five seats on the Union County Board of Supervisors and four of five board seats will have Republican candidates.

In District One there were eight Democratic candidates, two Republicans and one Independent in the primary.

Incumbent Democrat Dwight “Peanut” Pickens did not make the run-off. Evan Denton received 19.18% of the Democratic votes and will face Bill Hancock, who got 18.72%, in next week’s runoff. The Democratic nominee will face Republican Marshall McLaughlin, who received 50.7% and edged out fellow Republican Coy Fitts.

Paul Patterson, who ran unopposed in the primary as an Independent, will also be on the November ballot for the District One position.

In Supervisory District Two, Chad Coffey won the Democratic nomination outright, defeating Democratic incumbent Jimmy Yarbrough, with 60.13% of the Democratic votes, and will face Republican Bo Dillard, who drew 57.48%, defeating Barry Harrison in the primary.

Board of Supervisors President and long-time District Three Supervisor, Danny Jordan is not running for re-election. Jordan’s retirement drew a whopping 15 candidates — nine Democrats, five Republicans and one Independent. David Kitchens with 26.92% of the Democratic votes will face C. J. Bright, who got 17.14%. The race for the Republican District Three nomination saw Michael Moody get 46.3% of the votes and David Kent received 21.53% to win a run-off slot for both of them.

Winners of the Democratic and Republican run-offs will be joined on the general election ballot in November by Independent Ed Prawl.

Fourth District Democratic incumbent Supervisor Randy Owen drew no opponents — Democratic Party, Republican Party, Independent, Tea Party, TGIF Party or Let’s-Hava Party — and will be the only incumbent on the county board when members are sworn into office in January 2016.

Fifth District Supervisor Benny Rakestraw, a Democrat, also chose to retire after multiple terms on the county board. Eight Democrats and two Republicans ran in the August 4th primary for that open seat. Democrat Stevey Watson received 31.01% and Democrat Bobby Roberts got 25.88%. The winner of the run-off between Roberts and Watson will face Republican Caleb Chandler, who swamped Joe Reed in his party’s primary with 71.89% of the vote.

Polls will open at 7 a.m. next Tuesday, August 25th, and will close at 7 p.m.  NAnewsweb will report run-off returns that evening when they become available.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.